Education Committee

Charleston County Missionary Baptist Association Education Committee

Since the revitalization of the Education Committee and Scholarship Fund in 1994 under the leadership of the late Moderator, Reverend Dr. A. R. Blake, the Association has awarded over $100, 000. 00 in scholarships to students who are giving back to our communities and making valuable contributions in the medical, education, political, and economic arenas. The committee members were chosen by Moderator Blake with Dr. Lucille S. Whipper serving as Chairperson. When Dr. Whipper stepped down from that position, Sister Lauretta L. Dailey was appointed to serve as chairperson by Moderator Reverend Dr. William A. Salley.

Funds for the scholarships are secured through an annual concert sponsored by the Education Committee (March or April) and donations from our churches during the Annual Session of the Charleston County Missionary Baptist Association (October).

Besides enhancing the Scholarship Fund the purpose of the concert is to expose our congregations, community, especially our youth to the benefits of our musical heritage as demonstrated by our well trained Black Colleges.

We have been blessed with the performances of Benedict College and Claflin University concert choirs, Morris College Chorale, Voorhees College Choir, and the College of Charleston Choir.

The Education Committee also encourages our churches to assist in the education of our children by beings volunteers and mentors in our schools, adopting –a-school, providing an after school care program; providing tutorial programs and homework centers, assisting in test preparation, building technology skills, activities to improve reading and math skills, providing or directing children to college preparation workshops and seminars, and providing information on securing scholarships/students loans.
The Education Committee also publishes a newsletter, Investing in the Future”, in April and October.

Charleston County Missionary Baptist Association Education Committee Members

Reverend Dr. Isaac J. Holt, Jr., Moderator

Sister Lauretta Lemon Dailey, Chairperson

Gloria E. Gantt-Lambright, Secretary

Reverend Bernard L. Judge

Reverend Leonard O. Griffin, Vice Moderator

Dr. Lucille S. Whipper

Sister Thelma B. Ravenell

Deacon Jesse Knox 

Resource Coordinators

Sis. Victoria Abram
Deacon Cornell Dinkins
Deacon Levy W. Berry
Sis. Annette Gadsden
Minister Mona Lisa F. Kelly
Sis. Peggy J. Porter
Sis. Everne Williams

Rev. Carolyn V. Brantley
Sis. Beverly Brown
Sis. Tasha Fields
Sis. Mary Jefferson
Sis. Shirley S. Newton
Deacon Frank Russell, Jr.

Sis. Jessie Cauthen
Sis. Shirley A. Berry
Sis. Hilda Gadsden
Sis. Elinda Jones
Sis. Naomi Nation
Sis. Debra L. Smalls